Comic-Con Reflections

With the San Diego Comic Con taking place last week, let’s take a break from covering all the comic-y things that happened during my hiatus to discuss the geek avalanche of trailers and announcements from the weekend.

  • The Walking Dead

The_Walking_Dead_Season_6_

We’ll start off with the thing I was looking forward to most: the trailer for Season 6 of The Walking Dead!!! I have to say that even with the high level of anticipation, the trailer did not disappoint. The new season looks like it’s going to be very interesting. Can we infer from what was shown that Alexandria is going to split into 2 camps: those that support Rick’s willingness to kill those that are dangerous, and those that side with Morgan and his conviction that “all life is precious?” Are these 2 friends about to rip their sanctuary apart? Also, for those of us familiar with the comic, there seems to be an allusion to a pretty major event coming. Will it remain true to the comic or will this be another case of misdirection by the writers? I for one can’t wait to find out.

516_Pete_Death

  • Deadpool

deadpool-movie-costume-pic-2

What an absolutely amazing gift the world was given with the red band trailer for Deadpool. As a huge fan of the Merc with a Mouth, my excitement level for this movie was already through the roof. After seeing the leaked trailer, I can hardly contain myself. This movie looks fabulous.

74e173952b68bf8fedc1156131db6c060ebbc7c0

  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Batman-V-Superman-Dawn-of-Justice-Header1

As I’ve stated before, I will not be watching this movie. David S. Goyer (the writer for BvS) burned a bridge with me when he insinuated that Stan Lee was some kind of pervert for creating She-Hulk, and insulted comic book fans for caring about Martian Manhunter. I vowed that day that I would never again give my money to anything with which Goyer is associated. I didn’t watch a single episode of Constantine because he was the executive producer, and (sorry to all those out there that enjoyed the series) I was extremely happy that the showed got cancelled after only one season. With all that said, the trailer looks cool enough, though I can’t say I enjoyed the way Lex Luthor is portrayed in it.

  • Suicide Squad

Suicide-Squad-2016-Task-Force-X-Movie

I’ve been pretty critical of the idea of this movie from the start. You’re asking a lot of the audience to be invested in a movie based around a bunch of former villains, none of which have ever been seen on screen as a villain, trying to gain some form of redemption by working for the government. Then came the leaked sizzle-reel. I admit I actually was intrigued by it and felt my excitement level for the movie rising. That was until the end where we see Jared Leto’s Joker for the first time. It turns out that the picture posted on Twitter earlier this year was not actually a gimmick, but is indeed the way the Clown Prince of Crime will look in the DCU. I can’t express how stupid this looks. The Joker is not a crappy hip hop artist like Wiz Khalifa or Lil’ Wayne. He should not be covered in, to quote Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Mickey Mouse tattoos…and he most certainly shouldn’t have a stupid grill in his mouth. No. Just no.

jared-leto-joker-suicide-squad-11

  • X-Men: Apocalypse

885x664-oscar-issac-1373-ew-20150716170331

Yet another project that I was really looking forward to. Apocalypse has always been one of my favorite villains in the X-Men universe. And even more than that, I have loved the character of Psylocke from the moment I started reading X-Men comics. So when they announced that she would be in this movie, I was sold. Then Olivia Munn was perfectly cast to played her, and my little fanboy heart grew three sizes that day. Now that I’ve seen the leaked footage and the promotional photos from Entertainment Weekly, my excitement has leveled off a bit. On the one hand, Munn looks fantasic (big surprise), like Psylocke jumped off the page of the comic. But on the other, Oscar Isaac’s titular villain looks like a weird mash-up of Ivan Ooze from the Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers movie and the Djinn from The Wishmaster. Here’s an idea of how Apocalypse should look:

Apocalypse

There you have it folks. The biggest news from Comic Con. Some of it is very good. Some of it is very bad. But all of it is at least getting people talking about the world of comics. I’m out kiddos, see you next time.

Comment

