First Look at Batfleck

 

Batfleck Suit

Well folks, we got our first look at the new Batsuit from the upcoming Batman vs. Superman film. I’ve been terribly critical of the movie up to this point, and my issues with it remain the same. I don’t like 99% of the casting, including Ben Affleck as Batman. I’m worried that the plot is going to get bloated with trying to give back stories for too many un-established characters. And as I wrote last time, I wasn’t impressed with Man of Steel. I also don’t get why they don’t just go ahead and call it “Justice League” since that’s basically what it’s going to be.

Batman: Noel

Batman: Noel

But if nothing else, this movie has absolutely NAILED the Batsuit! The costume looks like it jumped straight out of the comic book. The suit as a whole is very derivative of the one seen in Lee Bermejo’s Christmas Carol-inspired Batman: Noel. The cape and cowl have touches of the one in Frank Miller’s masterpiece The Dark Knight Returns. The body even has hints of the costumes from the excellent Arkham video game series.

The Dark Knight Returns

The Dark Knight Returns

I’ve heard grumblings from some that the suit looks silly, but I for one dig the crap out of it. I dig it enough to make me actually pay money to see the movie in theaters…something I didn’t bother to do for Man of Steel. I don’t feel like this suit is enough to change my opinion that Captain America 3 will beat this movie at the box office when the two comic giants square off in 2016, but with this first piece of promising news, it’s at least a step in the right direction.

Batman: Arkham City

Batman: Arkham City

funny-Ben-Affleck-Christian-Bale-Batman-dinner

Comment

