Help Us Joss Whedon, You’re Our Only Hope

Agents_of_SHIELD_logo

If you’re like me, you were terribly excited when they announced the launch of ABC’s Marvel Cinematic Universe tie-in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. And if you’re like me, you’ve probably been a little disappointed with the product since it started airing. While I do believe the show has gotten a little better recently, there is still a lot of room for improvement. I desperately want the program to succeed and be the vehicle that keeps tying the MCU together in between movies. But to do that, there needs to be some changes.

More Movie Crossovers – I obviously understand that actors like Robert Downey, Jr, Chris Hemsworth, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, and Jeremy Renner aren’t going to be popping up on the show, but there are tons of secondary characters in each of these films that could. I’m looking forward to tonight’s episode for this reason as Lady Sif will be making an appearance. But outside of her, a one scene cameo by Maria Hill, and two by Nick Fury (one of which lasted all of 5 seconds), there have been no crossovers from the MCU movies. I think most fans (myself included) saw this show as an unprecedented opportunity to seamlessly blend a TV series with a movie franchise. So far, it has fallen pretty flat in that respect.

Better Characters – Outside of Coulson and May, both of whom I really like, I’m pretty ambivalent about most of the cast. Skye is a cute girl and has her moments where I like her, but she’s also kind of whiny, doesn’t have the most common sense, and is constantly thumbing her nose at rules and procedures that one would think would get her arrested, or at the very least kicked out of S.H.I.E.L.D. I really want to like Fitz and Simmons, and truth be told, they’re growing on me, but I just can’t help but feel like they’re a little bland. Then there’s Ward. He’s not particularly likable or compelling as a character. And for someone who’s supposed to be almost on the same level as the Black Widow (as referenced in the pilot), I’ve yet to see anything from him that displays that fact. Trying to establish brand new characters has been a tough row to hoe in the first season…this leads me to my next point.

MARVEL'S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.

Use Established S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents – There are dozens of already established characters in S.H.I.E.L.D. that could have been used in the cast to further tie-in the comic, but aside from the aforementioned cameos by Nick Fury and Maria Hill, and of course main cast member Phil Coulson , Victoria Hand has been the only agent from the comics to appear on the show. I realize that the super-powered agents like Ms. Marvel, Spider-Woman, She-Hulk, and Mockingbird are probably being saved for Avengers movies, but there are tons of non-superhuman agents to choose from that would be fun to see in the show.

Stop Random Breaks – It’s really difficult to stay connected to a television series when they keep taking long breaks between episodes. I can somewhat understand not wanting to go head-to-head with the Winter Olympics last month (though there are plenty of people like myself that didn’t watch them and would have preferred my regular shows be on), but also keep in mind that the vast majority of people don’t watch shows live anymore and will DVR them and watch them later…and DVR recordings still count towards overall viewership and ratings, so there’s really no reason not to air programs even against tough sporting event competition. What doesn’t make sense is the random 3-week break the show is going to be taking after tonight’s episode.

marvels-agents-of-shield-the-magical-place

Joss Whedon Writing – One of the things that excited me most about the idea of this series was the fact that Joss Whedon was attached to it. I’m a huge fan of his writing and storytelling style. Sadly, apart from the pilot episode, Whedon hasn’t written for the show and merely acts as executive producer. The show is in serious need of a dose of his deep, touching, familiar characters and quick, witty dialogue.

2 thoughts on “Help Us Joss Whedon, You’re Our Only Hope

  1. mathias42

    I don’t understand why the cameos are so difficult. It doesn’t need to be much. Have an op where there are shield agents around the globe ready to head into action at the climax…one of those agents is Steve Rogers. Make the cameo simply colson turning to a number of video screens – “agent bob…head on out. Agent sally, you’re activated. Agent Rogers – time to go”. It could be accomplished by sending a grip out with a camcorder and spending five minuets shooting Chris Evans scene during his coffee break on whatever set he’s on that day. Iron Man or War Machine or Iron Patriot is even easier. have them show up for a bit, just don’t open the helmet. We don’t need Don Cheadle for the Iron Patriot to have a walk on. How about showing some guardsmen with suits that are obviously derived from starktech? and are you telling me there are NO out takes from the Black Widow’s opening scene in Avengers that couldn’t be recycled and inserted into an agents of SHIELD episode? How about this – the agents go on a mission to find out what happened to Fury’s father, Nick Fury sr. Seriously, the possibilities are endless and they don’t have to break the budget. Instead, they choose to simply name drop frequently, and it feels cheap and disappointing. I’m like you. I want this to be must see TV. I make time to watch the Walking Dead every week. Most weeks however, I forget that SHIELD is even on, until an hour or a day later.

    Like

    Reply
  2. wallsofdericho Post author

    I totally agree. I don’t understand why they aren’t doing more to crossover the movies. If they’re trying to create one completely connected universe, why aren’t other characters from the movies popping up? Especially with SHIELD supposedly monitoring all of that stuff…

    Like

    Reply

Comment

